Interview: Justin Durant of the Detroit Lions

Leave a comment

November 11, 2012 by mepstein31

Since this interview mostly revolves around music, let’s get the football question out of the way first. The Lions are 2nd overall in the NFL in passing yards and your team stands at 2-3 after a big win versus the Eagles last week. How do you feel going into Week 7?

4-4 going into week 10 now and I feel great. We got off to a slow start but we’ve worked hard to climb out of the hole we dug ourselves in. Still we have a lot of football left to play.

What rappers did you listen to growing up?

B.I.G, Pac, Outkast, Goodie Mob, Busta Rhymes, Nas, Snoop, Dre, All of No Limit/Cash Money, DMX…basically everybody

Who are your top 5 favorite rappers right now?

Kendrick Lamar, Drake, Curren$y, Dom Kennedy & Ab-Soul

Everyone has that one friend that with whom they argue for hours about a particular artist, song, or album. Do you have any teammates on the Lions that you do this with?

Nah I’ve learned to just respect a person’s opinion and keep it moving. No time for arguing lol

Your thoughts on the attitude that “rap is dying”?

I don’t think so you just have to find the artists that give you whatever type of music you prefer. There is so much material out there it’s impossible not to find some quality.

Many athletes try their hand at rapping or starting their own record label. Why did you decide to start writing and doing music reviews as opposed to these other two options?

I won’t lose any money or embarrass myself by writing and I still get to participate in something I love.

There’s a saying that “athletes want to be musicians and musicians want to be athletes”. Is there any truth to this?

Somewhat yes. I’ve always wanted to be a rapper, but i realize they are much more talented than me so I stay in my lane.

If the Lions won the Super Bowl this year, what would be the first song you put on during the locker room celebration?

“Pop Bottles” by Birdman & Lil Wayne

If you were an artist, what would your rap name be?

I have no clue lol

Any female R&B singers or female rappers that you have a crush on?

Jhene Aiko

If you could go on tour with just one artist, who would it be?

Drake

What does music to mean to you? In other words, how would your life be different without hip hop?

I wouldn’t be who I am today without hip hop. It was the 1st form of music I truly enjoyed and I’ve been living in it since I was 9. I love it.

Leave a Reply

